Weather Forecast


Five teams claim titles at Harve Johnston/Bryan Wilson tourney

Mitchell Vipers third baseman Carter Liddeke, right, drops the ball trying to tag out Canova Gang's Calvin Halverson on Saturday at Cadwell Sports Complex during the Harve Johnston/Bryan Wilson Memorial youth baseball tournament. Halverson scored on the play. (Ryan Deal/Republic)

Five champions were crowned at the Harve Johnston/Bryan Wilson Memorial Youth Baseball Tournament Saturday and Sunday at the Cadwell Sports Complex.

Thirty-two teams played in the tournament, which included two divisions of under-10 youth baseball and three divisions of under-12.

In the under-10 division, the Pierre Grinders won the National League division, edging the Mitchell Overtime 3-2 in the championships game.

Alexandria won the American League championship, defeating Lennox 15-0 in the title contest.

In the under-12 division, Sioux Falls Cyclones Blue won the National League title, defeating the Sioux Falls Cyclones Red 4-0 in the championship game.

In the American League division, the Aberdeen Smittys defeated Lennox 6-2 in the championship game. Flandreau won the Independent League championship, winning 5-1 over Pony Hills Thunder.

The Bryan Wilson Award, which is awarded to one baseball player who exhibits strong play and sportsmanship throughout the tournament, was awarded to Tristan Fitzsimmon. Fitzsimmon played catcher for the Sioux Falls Outlaws.

The tournament is held annually by the Mitchell Baseball Association in memory of Johnston and Wilson.